thoughts and decisions for a creative edge

Clarke-Tech 5000HD-Combo + TechniSat Multytenne TWIN with 4 Satellites reception (Part 1 of 4)

Before I even begin with this review, I’d like to say I’ve never handled or even programmed any satellite dish or satellite receiver of any kind in my life. Thus what you about to read here is all a 1st hand experience from a SAT NOVICE! But I think for a 1st timer, I think I should have no problems doing it again. And believe or not, they were going to charge me EU150 for installation if I did have a technician set up the dish and apparatus for a 2hr job. Ha!! Well, but I did take about 2 days to tune my dish and understand the whole setup to a certain perfection. So here’s my experience with this.

Satellite is definitely much better.

For the last 4 years since being in Holland, I have only either choice to use cable or terrestrial for TV connection. In the area where I live we had only two choice of providers;
• KPN Digitenne with DVB-T antennae that claims to be “Always There” with its dutch quote Altijd Dichtbij.
• Casema which I would presume to be cable TV from line laid on the ground.

*These 2 company almost monopolize the whole TV network in this region of Noord Holland. There is also UPC but ther network does not cover this newly built area where I live. Terrible. I would have loved UPC with its Dgital Twin Tuner capability. But no choice.

On either KPN or Casema’s network, consumer is fixed with 32 channels tele at max. Out of that 27 tv channels and 20 Radio station, I only watch about 5 which we subscribed from KPN. They’d be CNN, BBC, National Geographic, Animal Planet and the only MTV available. The fact that I live is a newly-built suburban area in between The Hague and Utrecht means real low reception for Terrestrial TV to work. Oosterheem is seated right in the middle of 2 big cities thus in a fractal void. Some folks say we live in some Twilight Zone of Holland! And its no joke. Somebody needs to safe us Zoetermeer Hobbits! : )If you’re a KPN engineer reading this. You should be the first one to react to that! Digitennes network is too weak to be used indoors here. After horrible months of follow-up complains, KPN’s support staff admits acknowledging the problem in that area. They’ve placed a special order of an chunky external antennae for me as a final courtesy. To me that’s about as good as having a satellite dish instead of just the limited channels. If I were to install anything outdoors creating a hole through my wall, it will very well be a satellite dish!! Plus on satellite, I would get more than 2000 free-to-air channels here being in the middle of West Europe. No thanks KPN. You can strike me out. I’ll be on my way to Astras and Hotbird from here on. Thanks for all the interference programs. And thanks for NOT warning us about the bad reception too.

1st up. CHOOSING THE RIGHT DISH

Small. That’s key.

I consulted Google to where I can get hands with satellite dishes in this country. It showed me that I have one of Holland’s most respected less than 5 km from where I live! Awesome. The renown company named Ziezotec supplies its products to the Benelux. I’d say they’re definitely seated in a pot of gold.



I quickly got recommended to TechniSat as one of the most sold. It also got recommended based on performance. The shop assistant, a young guy probably about the age of 20 was kind enuf to struggle his English to explain to me the differences between newer dish compared to the old chunky grey ones. I definitely don’t want those. They look like they dropped off from NASA shuttle plane. Considering the wind factor in Netherlands, many probably lose their dish after the notorious wind storms. I will not take the chance.

Technisat Multytenne Best Satellite Dish 2006

Technisat Best Satellite Dish 2006 Multytenne Twin

The dish on the TechniSat is way way smaller than any traditional sat dish I’ve ever seen. Its even smaller than a children’s umbrella at a mere 45cm width. Better yet it has 4 LNB installed! The surface diameter is smaller since these 4 LNB utilise smaller surface area creating a line of path which is somewhat parallel before being bounced off into space to its respective 4 satellites.


The way the Multytenne DAS Original was designed is definitely based from fine tuning technique that’s been perfected through time and painstaking experimentations. Material wise, its made with high grade aluminum. The 4 LNB has been strategically placed in the ABS weather proofed casing in such a way that there is no need to tweak its angles. All you need to do is align the 1st LNB as accurately as possible to Astra 1, which is ASTRA 19.2° East and the rest of the LNBs will be almost on its right line of direction direction for EUTELSAT 13° East, ASTRA 23,5° East and Eurobird-ASTRA 28.5° East.

Easier said than done? I’ll tell you all about in the next part of this system assembly. And you’d be surprised…

END of part 1 of 4
Continue to Part 2

One response

  1. Hi ,
    Your work on the blog is fantastic. I’m influenced in a positive way.

    Specifically, I got some nice information in this page http://rastasiareviews.blogspot.com/2007/10/clarke-tech-5000hd-c-technisat.html

    If you are interested, I would like to exchange links by placing a content link in your website. Don’t you think it would be nice for both our sites?

    I’m waiting for your response.
    Regards,
    David
    Email: davidwilsen@gmail.com

    November 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

