thoughts and decisions for a creative edge

Clarke-Tech 5000HD-Combo + TechniSat Multytenne TWIN with 4 Satellites reception (Part 2 of 4)

Multytenne Installation

Did I tell you how easy it was to install this dish? Incredible that dish installation would have costed EU150 for 3 hours work. That’s more than enough time when they have proper tools ready for the job. I’ve never ever handled one! But I thought I should be able to do this. It took me about 6 hours altogether over period of 3 days.. But I did it clean. Real clean. Right down to concealing the lose cables that runs from the shed right to the home interior.

Technisat Multytenne

TechniSat Multynne TWIN with 4 LNBs
Its small and compact enough to bring with me in my next camping trip. The ones that they use for camping is no smaller than this. The whole unit is made of light aluminium. Light but strong and not flimsy in anyway. Handling the dish and the frame tubing, you can see that its all been molded or bent into shape. The double barreled aluminum hollow tubing that attaches the LNB is really lightweight and non-corrosive to withstand long weathered exposure.

I got the TWIN Multytenne which costed me EU 239. The box includes the following:
• an extended wall mounting aluminum bracket – good for balcony montage specifically in good open space or high rise buildings
• the LNB unit
• 10 meter coaxial cable
• an F connector and the dish itself.

From the dealer in Ziezotec themselves, they gave me spare F connector for the twin connection and a F-connector Terminator in case I am not installing the 2nd unit right away for free. I also asked separate a coupling connector and a longer cable since I’d be running the cable up to the 3rd floor of the building. 10 meter is just about enough to run one signal from the dish to the decoder. I got the RG6 cable which is 100 meters long which sells for EU 29. Better longer than too short. Last not least I also got the floor stand which I will place flat on top of the roof of my shed instead of the side walls to reduce eye sore. I want it to be tucked away as much as possible instead of the regular jarring sight of ANTENNAE or SATTELITTE IN YOUR FACE norm.

Tools I used:

• Concrete drill (to bolt the floor stand to the concrete floor if you want to secure your investment)
• Wire cutter & scissors (Coaxial wire stripper if you want to spend even more money)
• Electrical tape (waterproofing and sealing F connector joints)
• Mirror* or partner (YES those reflective glass. a Big one if you have.) If you have partner helping you then trash that mirror.
• Cabling PVC Pipe 10mmø ( Since i want to conceal the cable later under the garden earth.)

Location! Location!! Location!!!

My house is built in such an angle that’s awkward for satellite dish placement. Not a big deal. But it would have been nicer if I didn’t need to run a 12 meter coaxial cable out from the Clake-Tech across the garden to the dish! Double that, since I’ll be running 2 cables from the TWIN receptor to the main home building. One for the living room, the other to the bedroom.

What you need to understand about dish placement is that it needs to have a clear line of sight / path between the reflected LNB line to the Satellite in orbit. Since Astra 1 is in 19.2˚E orbit and I have buildings from the front face of the house in that direction, it now becomes a big obstacle. The alternative was either to cimb up the roof and place it there (hell no way I’m doiing that!!) or the most obvious and safest, will be on the shed behind the house. Of course.

How I put it all together:

You basically have to connect the Decoder Box (in my case the CT5HD*) to the dish (TechniSat) with one coaxial cable. Work on the satellite dish first.

• After finding strategic place to place your dish. Align and mark the floor stand to where you want to have it bolted. I used only one 10mmø Bolt Screw that is about 35mm deep into the ground. You can also choose to have 4 on each corner of the floor mount if you think Twister is coming to town. Dutch winds max was about 6 Knots so that one screw for me should hold the stand. I hope to wait and see..

• When stand is solidly fastened to the ground, mount the dish up! This should be pretty easy until to the point where you need to have compass reference to where you need to point the dish to. Do not tighten the bolt holding the dish on the pole just as yet for you’d need to adjust its direction to the proper satellite. In our case being in Europe / Netherlands to the Astra 1.

• Roll out the cable and connect the Box to the Dish. I had to drill a 7mm hole for the coaxial cable to be able to run out of the house. In fact I had to drill 2 holes to run 2 cables in. (I have Twin Multytenne dish for 2 room separate use.) Remember to drill the hole in a downward angle from inside the house. This will help to reduce any possible condensation that will creep into your house in winter. But also don’t forget to seal it in case you get ants crawling from the garden to get food from the fridge.

• With a compass look for the right azimuth on which it should be angled to. The way the TechniSat is designed makes this rather easy to accomplish. The elevation is also easily adjustable with the use of 2 allen keys that locks the angle into place. This would be the up-down adjustments. I lifted mine to the max just to overcome the home building right ahead of the dish. But this proofed not to work.

• Find out what direction you want your dish to point to. For ASTRA 1 I need mine to face Elevation of 29˚, Azimuth of 163.6 (magnetic North) and Polarisation of -10.6. My advise will be to get the elevation right first and then the L-R Azimuth tweaking. But here’s also where my mirror worked for me. See, you need to know the level of reception as you tweaking for the stars!! And since I did not get the Satellite Finder tool, I thought I should just be able to view it directly on TV while I aim the dish around. Simple right? Well yes if your TV is in line of sight. But of course its not – for me. If you have a partner to give audio hints of good level that would be handy too. I placed the mirror in such an angle that I can see the TV screen with the real time level gauge on the Satellite set-up screen. Green means its good Red meaning you’re a clown. I got mine to a level max of 85 percent on Astra 1. And then I locked all the bolts and allen keys to have the satellite LOCKED ON. The rest of the 3 LNBs should allign when you have accurately got the 1st LNB to Astra1.

If all cables are stripped correctly and connected right, you should be able to enjoy your 3000+ channels in a few minutes if not hours.

I had a couple of issues with the manual on the ClarkeTech but I figured it out after some trial and errors. Hey who said everybody could understand Schwarzenegger when he writes eh? I’ll explain some of the tricky bits on my next post.

CONTINUE TO PART 3

One response

  1. Pingback: Clarke-Tech 5000HD-Combo + TechniSat Multytenne TWIN with 4 Satellites reception (Part 1 of 4) « RASTASIA : A Singaporean in Holland

Leave a Reply

