thoughts and decisions for a creative edge

SOLE – Self-Organized Learning Environments

Rarely do I come across such encouraging individuals..

MY WISH

Excerpt from TED with Sugata Mitra

My wish is to help design the future of learning by supporting children all over the world to tap into their wonder and their ability to work together. Help me build the school which would be called the school in the cloud. It will be a school where children go on with this intellectual adventure driven with the big questions which the intermediators would put in. The way I want to do this is to build a facility where I can study this. The facility is practically unmanned, there’s only one ‘granny’ who manages health and safety. The rest of it is from the cloud, where the lights are turned on and off from the cloud. But I want you for another purpose. You can do a SOLE at home, in the school, outside the school, in clubs.. It’s really easy to do. If you would please do it across all five continents and send me the data, then I’ll put all together, move it into the school of cloud and create the future of learning. That’s my wish..

And just one last thing, I”ll take you to the top of the Himalayas. At 12,000 feet where the air is thin I once build 2 hole in the wall computers and the children flock there. There was this little girl who’s following me around. And I said to her, “You know, I want to give a computer to everybody, to every child, I don’t know, what should I do?”

And I was trying to take her picture quietly.. she suddenly raised her hand like this and said to me, “Get on with it.”

On Himalaya hole on the wall computers at 12,000 feet

Get on with it..

TED - SOLE - Self-Organized Learning Enironments - Sugata Mitra

TED – SOLE – Self-Organized Learning Enironments – Sugata Mitra

Leave a Reply

